Log in

Enjoy the History of Ironwood, MI

Nestled atop the Gogebic Range, historic Ironwood is the heart and soul of the northwoods.   From the "boom times" of the 1920's-- when Ironwood boasted a population of some 20,000 souls--to the present day, Ironwood remains a strong cultural unit, with distinctive Finnish and Italian identities.   Stop in at the Memorial Building or visit the Ironwood Historical Society exhibits at the Historic Ironwood Depot and learn all about our logging and mining heritage.  Ironwood has much to offer--rich history embeded in an outstanding natural landscape.

Ironwood MI History and Site Seeing

Old Depot Museum
The Ironwood Depot was built in 1892, the passenger service ended in the 1970s and the railroad tracks have been removed. In their place is a is the Cross-State and Regional bike trail-head and Western UP snowmobile trail-head. The Ironwood Depot is now the office of the Ironwood Chamber of Commerce and a museum maintained by the Ironwood Area Historical Society.
Little Finland
Little Finland is the home of the National Finnish American Festival. The NFAF works to preserve our Finnish - American heritage. Our museum has a wonderful collection of Finnish artifacts, most of which came with their owners from Finland. Old Bibles, a rug loom, musical instruments and curios make up only a small part of the holdings. Located in the Wisconsin Northwoods, our cultural center has facilities for reunions, receptions and gatherings. We also have a gift shop with a large selection of glassware, linens, books, and clothing. The gift shop is open Wednesdays and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., April through December. Visitors to Little Finland will also...
The Curry House
Not open to public. Home of one of Ironwoods founding fathers, Solomon S. Curry. In 1887, fire destroyed much of the town of Ironwood. After the fire, Curry purchased land and built this house for his own use. After Curry's death in 1929, the house was used as a hospital and a nursing home. The balcony on the second floor was enclosed in 1913 and a kitchen was added to the rear in 1952. The house was later turned into a private residence. The Solomon S. Curry House is a 2-1/2-story vernacular Queen Anne structure, sided with clapboard and shiplap and sitting on a concrete foundation. The first floor has a long, L-shaped open porch; a matching porch on the second stor...
Pocket Park
Award winning city owned facility in the heart of the downtown. Includes garden, walkway and benches.
Ironwood Depot
Built in 1892, the Chicago and Northwestern Railroad Depot was designed in the Richardson Romanesque style. It was the hub of an elaborate railroad yard operation in the center of Ironwood. As the mines closed, so too did the fortunes of the railroads, with the last iron ore trains ending in 1967 and passenger trains ending their service at the Depot in 1970. Purchased by the City of Ironwood, the Depot was refurbished by a dedicated group of volunteers, and it is now home to the Ironwood Area Historical Society and the Ironwood Area Chamber of Commerce. The Depot features displays on early railroading, and a large exhibit illustrating the history and operation of th...
Hiawatha Statue
Hiawatha Statue the "Tallest Indian in the World" was built in 1964 and is made mainly of fiberglass. "The Big Indian" is what it is called by locals is 52 feet tall and looks north to Lake Superior. Hiawatha was the leader and founder of the Iroquois Confederacy and the statue was designed to symbolize unity and peace within each nation that had joined the confederacy.
Miner's Mural
"The men in this mural represent the thousands of men who worked in the Gogebic Range Mines of Michigan and Wisconsin. May we honor them for their tremendous contribution to the development of this great nation."
Memorial Building
The Memorial Building is a two-story Neoclassical structure built of concrete in a pentagonal shape. The first floor is raised, providing light to the basement level. The two front facades are faced in grey terra cotta and coursed stone, while the remaining elevations are faced with brick. The heavy bronze door entrances are approached with wide granite steps and are flanked by Ionic columns. Above each entrance, clocks are inset into the terra cotta. A balustrade runs around the roof edge. Multipaned windows separated by pilasters and topped with arches run around the first floor, and rectangular windows with architrave trim are used on the second. Inside the buildi...
Carnegie Library
Build in 1901 with the support of Andrew Carnegie, we are proud to be the OLDEST CONTINUALLY OPERATING CARNEGIE LIBRARY IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN. Located in the town of Ironwood in Gogebic County, our library is a beautiful historic building that has served the fine residents of our community for over 100 years. Our library's original collection consisted of 7,800 books. Today our collection includes over 28,000 items. The library houses a unique collection of books and newspapers documenting the area's history and works closely with the local genealogical and historical societies to preserve our past by archiving information of historic value.

jointhechamber

Featured Members

Upcoming Events

Sep
22

09.22.2017 4:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Sep
23

09.23.2017 8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Sep
29

09.29.2017 4:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Oct
6

10.06.2017 4:00 pm - 6:30 pm

Oct
13

10.13.2017 4:00 pm - 6:30 pm